Arbeitsgruppe Kube

The lymphoma microenvironment and B-cell metabolism

Im Labor: Frau von Bonin präpariert die Proben.
Dr. Kube und drei Mitarbeiterinnen der Arbeitsgruppe

Our research group focuses on the molecular characterization of cell metabolism and the interplay of B-cell lymphoma cells with the microenvironment investigating Hodgkin, Burkitt, and diffuse large B-cell lymphoma.

Using functional in vitro analysis and informative model systems accompanied by transcriptomic, proteomic, phosphoproteomic and metabolomic analysis, we are currently dissect molecular mechanisms of cell metabolism in lymphatic cells (Feist et al. 2018, doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-03803-x, Schwarzfischer et al. 2017, doi: 10.1021/acs.jproteome.6b00164) and the interplay of lymphoma cells with macrophages (Arlt et al. 2019, doi: 10.1002/1878-0261.12616) with the eventual goal to support the development of personalized therapies targeting both the transformed cells and the reprogrammed cells of the microenvironment.

Mφ affect lymphoma growth

Kaplan-Meier curves of DLBCL patientstreated with CHOP or R-CHOP (Lenz, G. et al. Stromal gene signatures in large-B-cell lymphomas. N. Engl. J. Med.359, 2313–23 (2008).). Patients were grouped according to their GOT2 and GPT expression relative to the median of the group (high > median, low ≤ median). Additional details:

In the past our group was also investigating the role of the oncogenic Epstein-Barr Virus, aberrations of the Wnt/LEF1 pathway as well as associations of gene variations within cytokine genes with the clinical outcome of lymphoma patients (doi: 10.1002/path.2384, doi: 10.1634/theoncologist.2012-0291, doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-11-3299, doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdp110, doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-07-5182, DOI: 10.1038/sj.gene.6363803).

Cell metabolism in activated and transformed B-cells.

We are grateful for the generous support of our research by the Deutsche Krebshilfe, the DFG, the Deutsche Jose-Carreras Stiftung, the BMBF, Else-Kröner-Fresenius Stiftung and the Kubeschka/Stricker/Wirth – Stiftung (GAU)

Current members of the group

Leiter Forschungslabore; AG-Leiter Molekularbiologie Maligner Lymphome

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dieter Kube

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dieter Kube



Frederike von Bonin

 Frederike von Bonin


  • Julia Groenewold - Jacob-Henle fellowship
  • Pauline Haro - fellowship from the Else-Kröner-Fresenius College

Allumni of the group in Göttingen

  • Dr. rer. nat. Maren Feist
  • Dr. rer. nat. Annekatrin Arlt
  • Dr. rer. nat. Isabel Rausch
  • Dr. rer. nat. Vanessa Kruse
  • Dr. rer. nat. Franziska Linke
  • Dr. rer. nat. Alexandra Schrader
  • Dr. rer. nat. Elisabeth Hand
  • Dr. rer. nat. Sonja Eberth
  • Dr. rer. nat. Natalie Klytta
  • Dr. rer. nat. Christina Stadler (Heemann)
  • Dr. rer. nat. Alex Feuerborn
  • Dr. rer. nat. Nils Schoof
  • Dr. rer. nat. Diana Pinkert
  • Dr. med. Thanh Duc Hua
  • Dr. med. Irene Stoller
  • Dr. med. Kathrin Matthias
  • Dr. med. Julia Stächle
  • Dr. med. Stefan Ueberdiek
  • Dr. med. Pia Wilming
  • Dr. med. Alina Blumberg
  • Dr. med. Moritz Harenberg
  • Dr. med. Judith Kemper
  • Wilken Harms cand. MD
  • Rieke Specht cand. MD
  • Markus Maulhardt cand. MD
  • Neele Walther
  • Susanne Hengst
  • Karin Flessner
  • Meike Schaffrinski


A full list of publications can be found in pubmed

Folgen Sie uns